Furiously Knocking

126304122 Padlock_Door_childs hand

“You might as well answer the door, My child,
the truth is furiously knocking.”
For whatever will you do, My child,
when the boat starts furiously rocking

“You might as well answer the door, My child,
the truth is furiously knocking.”
For whomever else can still, My child,
the relentless voice of mocking

“You might as well answer the door, My child,
the truth is furiously knocking.”
Whoever else holds the key, My child,
to the heart you’ve been padlocking?

“You might as well answer the door, My child,
the truth is furiously knocking.”
Who else can handle as tender, My child,
the pain of your defrocking.

“You might as well answer the door, My child,
Truth is furiously knocking.”
For the sands of time have shifted, My child,
the clock is furiously clocking.

You might as well answer the door, my child, the truth is furiously knocking. ~Lucille Clifton

Celebrated poet Lucille Clifton (died February 13, 2010) also won an Emmy award for her work on the TV special Free to Be… You and Me.

Leave a Reply

