Jesus Smiles

I was listening to a song this morning and it sparked a memory from years ago I just had to record and share..

I recall becoming over-whelmed and deeply saddened for the Lord one day, moved to the point of tears even.  Maybe it was the news that influenced my thoughts that day or media in general; the atrocities in the world, the hatred, the warmongering, the abuse and killing of innocence, the disgustingly salacious and immoral behavior of people.  Jesus died such a horrible death, so much so historians say his own mother wouldn’t have been able to recognize Him.  Paying the ultimate price for our redemption, He did it all for love of humanity; innocent dying for guilty.  And rather than simply saving us free of charge from a hell we deserved- which He did and which would have been enough, He gives us Himself, along with extravagant gifts and abundant lives in ways this world can’t understand without the experience of relationship.

So I was saddened by the perpetual view I knew our Lord viewed daily from His Throne of mercy & grace and through tears I found myself thinking, I just want to give You a reason to smile.

Without hesitation, He said, “if you want to make Me smile, obey Me.”

I used to think the ultimate expression of my love and gratitude towards the Lord would be literally dying a martyr’s death and I was sure I was prepared to do that.  Today I realize the ultimate expression of my love and gratitude is simply live the Christian life- regardless of societal mores, pressure, popular opinion, self-comfort or feeling.

Dying daily is serious business.

But I want to make Him smile.

Blessings.

“Anyone who loves Me will listen to My voice and obey. The Father will love him, and We will draw close to him and make a dwelling place within him.  The one who does not love Me ignores My message, which is not from Me, but from the Father who sent Me.” ~Jesus; John 14:23-24

What can I do for You?
What can I bring to You?
What kind of song would you like me to sing?

‘Cause I’ll dance a dance for You
Pour out my love to You
What can I do for You beautiful King?

‘Cause I… can’t thank You enough.

Brian And Jenn Johnson – A Little Longer: Bethel Music

 

2 thoughts on “Jesus Smiles”

    1. Thank you for the kind words Tammi, and praise God you were blessed. I simply share the wisdom He’s given through His Spirit and those He’s used to mentor. All that praise really goes to Him. Blessings!

      Like

Leave a Reply

