The Lover

If I were the enemy of your soul
I’d surely want you to be comfortable
And in constant denial
So I’d tell you what you wanted to hear
Tailor-made just for your likes, dislikes and opinions
I’d encourage you to be proud of yourself, your talents, your abilities
To identify exclusively with your heritage, your culture, your history
While freely embracing those who only want to strip you of yours
I’d pipe a dream in your ear in Dolby sound and paint your name in lights
I’d be sure you had plenty of religious options to choose from-
Like cereal
So you could find one to suit your specific tastes


I’d whitewash truth with lies so sweetly spiced with love,
Inclusiveness and coexistence
Anyone speaking otherwise would naturally appear the hate monger
I’d have you supporting my agenda
Cleverly disguised as pressing your own
But you wouldn’t believe it if it were told–
And you wouldn’t care.
I’d champion your causes because they’re mine and lay a fleece
Of such success, popularity and support you would never know
The depths of your depravity neither glimpse the Savior of your sin.
I’d entice you with the desires of your heart and the lust of your flesh
And you’d follow me down the garden path
Without the least resistance
Because its freedom’s right
And you’re free!

Jesus says I love you

But oh… if I were the lover of your soul–
If I were the Lover of your soul
I’d pursue you from the highest high
Shift heavens
Move mountains
Forfeit Deity and notoriety
Throw off fame and comfort
Clothe Myself in finite weakness of human flesh
Just to reach- speak- teach and touch
The beautiful frailty of your skin
Know the fragility of your being
In that if you ever fail or miss the mark
You could receive it when I meet you there
In mercy- in grace- in forgiveness
Knowing I knew the struggle, you would allow Me
To hold you in My arms, lift the countenance of your face.
I’d encourage you to know you were tailor-made just for Me
I’d teach you to be proud of Who’s you are and to embrace your
Heritage and inheritance
Your abilities and your disabilities
Because in Me you live and breathe and have your being
I’d speak only truth, right and fitting for every occasion
In love
I’d bless the desires of My heart in you and abundant
Would be the gifts that I bestow on the heart of My love
I’d always invite you to come to Me
At My own invitation and out of necessity
I’d save you and rescue you and bleed for you-
Because I saved
And rescued
And bled for you
I fought
And sacrificed
And breathed My last breath for you
So that in Me
You could be free

©justAvoice4Him

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54493_91_C93E7423E874CFACAF2442CC254BD425

*Influenced by Paul Harvey’s, “If I Were the Devil” 1965

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Eternal, “plans for peace, not evil, to give you a future and hope—never forget that. At that time, you will call out for Me, and I will hear. You will pray, and I will listen. You will look for Me intently, and you will find Me.  Jeremiah 29:11-13 VOICE

Leave a Reply

