I Got a Secret

Everybody wants the secret; to gain wealth, eternal youth, lasting love, long life…we eagerly seek and search for those things we desire. At the opposite end of the spectrum, we buy into the delusion we can never expect more than we are or have; somehow, we drew the short end of the lottery-stick-of-life and must simply accept our lotMaybe worse,  we’ve so completely botched our lives and opportunities we feel it’s too late for fill in the blank.

Almost twenty years ago, in a state of complete desperation and hopelessness, I encountered the God I’d been taught to believe in all my life.  I’ve never been able to unknow Him since.  You see, it’s one thing to believe in a higher power, it’s quite another to experience Him.

“A mind that is stretched by a new experience can never go back to its old dimensions.”  Oliver Wendell Holmes

We’re all shaped by the influences and influencers in our lives.  In spite of a Christian upbringing, it was at a very tender age I picked up a benign little romance novel in the library at my school and- please hear me now- from that day forward, life centered around romance and the one. We focus on what we think about the most.

Fast forward to my early thirties– wife, mom twice over, nice home, all the necessities of life and then some…and yet like the prodigal son I was face planted on my bedroom floor, crying out, help me, God! I don’t want to liveI know I’m a sinner according to Your Word, forgive me in Jesus’ name–and before the last syllable left my lips, He did.

While the Promises of God are fact not feeling, I felt a distinct difference within myself and sat in stupefied silence while doing a mental inner search, trying to figure out what had just happened to me.

My Sovereign rocked my world that day and took me beyond my limited knowledge of what constitutes reality.  I expected, if God even heard me, my circumstances would change over time and I’d get some sort of do-over. Ever wanted one of those?  Yet in forgiveness and healing, I found freedom and relationship.  My perspective on all the negative aspects of my circumstances suddenly changed; oddly, they no longer seemed so dire or loomed so large. I dove into the Bible like a woman searching for the proverbial secret– and so I was.  I was awe-stricken; captivated.  I went to the source because I wanted to know everything about my God.   From that day forward, my life became about the One.

I’m what you’ve been searching for all your life. -Jesus
(direct quote)

Before we were created to know and love others, we were created to know and love our Sovereign.  So many of us, if not all, fall into the trap of the finite- duped to believe this life is all there is; the guy/girl, successful careers, friends, money and stuff…all the trappings that come with the world we’re birthed into.  When life doesn’t become the dream we dreamed we’re heart-broken, disappointed and disillusioned.  Wondering why we’re even  here-what’s the point?

For You shaped me, inside and out.  You knitted me together in my mother’s womb long before I took my first breath.  I will offer You my grateful heart, for I am Your unique creation, filled with wonder and awe.  You have approached even the smallest details with excellence;  Your works are wonderful; I carry this knowledge deep within my soul.  You see all things; nothing about me was hidden from You.  As I took shape in secret, carefully crafted in the heart of the earth before I was born from its womb.  You see all things; You saw me growing, changing in my mother’s womb; Every detail of my life was already written in Your book; You established the length of my life before I ever tasted the sweetness of it. –The Voice: Psalm 139:13-16

 The secret?  First things first.  Fall in love with Jesus and everything else in your life will fall into place.  I’m  talking about the purest, most Holy, sacred and unconditional love you’ll ever know- untainted by the human dynamic.  And while I’d like to beguile you with life-will-always-turn-up-roses-here-after, that would be disingenuous.  The Bible clearly states we’re not better than those who came before; Jesus learned obedience by what He suffered.  In other words, this ain’t Heaven yet.  It is, however, a journey we’re on to become on this earth just as He is in Heaven, borne out of a Divine Relationship we can enjoy now and forever.  That’s not a fairy tale, friend; one experience and you’ll know it too.  But don’t take my word for it!

I know the plans I have for you, to give you a hope and a future.  I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore, I have drawn you with loving-kindness.  Don’t get lost in despair; believe in God, and keep on believing in Me. My Father’s home is designed to accommodate all of you. If there were not room for everyone, I would have told you that. I am going to make arrangements for your arrival. I will be there to greet you personally and welcome you home, where we will be together.

-Truths from God’s Word (Revelation of Himself)

If you’re interested, here’s a few truths I’ve learned by study and experience to hang on to when your reality seems to contradict God’s Truth: (otherwise I encourage you to skip to the video, do yourself a huge favor and simply allow the moderator to wash you with the water of the Word.  It’s powerful!)

Our God is Sovereignthere is no other God.  Our Godhead consists of three distinct entities wholly identical in character: Father, Son, Holy Spirit. Any other teaching is false and designed to deceive and rob you of life; here and the hereafter.  Jesus and the Holy Spirit are as much God as our Sovereign/Father.  Jesus literally laid aside His own Deity to come in human form/flesh to show us how to do this life in a way that is pleasing to our Father/Sovereign and assures the best life we can have here. To that end, the Holy Spirit is to us what Jesus was to His disciples- a present help in time of need no matter what that need is!  Mental, physical, emotional, spiritual.  HE is the empowerment given freely to enable us to live a Godly lifestyle- not just our decision and effort to do so.  The choice is always ours and has to be made daily- His is the power within to bring it about as we agree with His Word.  He couldn’t have made it more simple or more easy. (I’ve found in our humanity we tend to complicate things to the nth degree!  He did give us commands to keep, but not in our own strength or ability. Thank God!)

Now here’s an amazing Truth!  Your Sovereign holds Himself accountable to His Word– He not only can but will do what He says He will do.  Further, He is utterly honest and can only tell you the truth- He is not a man that He should lie. (meditate the great confidence, consistency and comfort in that!)  Once in Christ (salvation) nothing and no one can separate you from Him, not even death.  He’ll never leave you or forsake you and will in fact move every obstacle in His path to get to you when you call out to Him. He loves with an unfailing love.  He is trustworthy and true and His Word has been proven time and again since time began.  He is absolutely amazing.

I could go on and on…  as a child of the Most High, we’ve been delivered form the power of darkness (the enemy that holds sway over this world) and delivered into the Son of God’s Love. He said, My sheep (redeemed children) hear My Voice and a strangers voice they will not attend. 

Come to Him in humble childlike faith, asking for forgiveness and accepting Him as Lord and God of your life.  From that moment on, you can hear the voice of your God- He decreed it so and you can claim it in prayer as a Promise- He stands over His Word to perform it!

He speaks in a myriad of ways; the quiet inner voice only you’ll hear (Holy Spirit), via His Word as you study/develop relationship with Him, and even His people (Prophets, Teachers, Brothers and Sisters in Christ).  And wonder of wonders, He’ll gift you a voice as well- sharing, speaking, writing, singing…His truth will be like a fire in your bones and like the rest of us, you’ll be unable to keep Him a secret!

Blessings on your journey Home,
justAvoice4Him©2016

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54493_91_C93E7423E874CFACAF2442CC254BD425

The Bible says the Word of God is alive and active- further, life and death are in the power of the tongue.  Once relationship is secure, speaking the Word of God over yourself (personalizing the text) will bring that blessing/promise to fruition in your life.  God said He stands over his Word to perform it- Jeremiah 1:12  I hope you take the time to listen to the attached healing Scriptures…His Word is light and life to those who find them.

 

Prayer is simply talking to God and is never formulaic. He knows the level of understanding you have, if any, and He meets you right where you are. Every time.

If you understand that you are a sinner, and you believe that Jesus Christ came as the one and only Redeemer of sin, then you understand the plan of salvation. The question is – are you ready to implement the plan, by receiving God’s gift of His Son, Jesus Christ? If so, believe in Christ, repent of your sins, and commit the rest of your life to Him as Lord:

“Father, I know that I have broken your laws and my sins have separated me from you. I am truly sorry, and now I want to turn away from my past sinful life toward you. Please forgive me, and help me avoid sinning again. I believe that your son, Jesus Christ died for my sins, was resurrected from the dead, is alive, and hears my prayer. I invite Jesus to become the Lord of my life, to rule and reign in my heart from this day forward. Please send your Holy Spirit to help me obey You, and to do Your will for the rest of my life. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.”  –Plan Of Salvation

Artwork courtesy of shayn-art: The Book of Secrets

2 thoughts on “I Got a Secret”

  1. Amen McApple- He’s amazing! And no respector of persons so relationship and all those rich experiences are for ‘whosoever will’. Know I’m singing to the choir here…thanks for reading and commenting. Blessings. : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

